Areas of Focused Competence

Cells Dividing

Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) Programs are accredited are Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. They provide subspecialty competency based training for physicians who have achieved primary specialist certification in a primary discipline. Those who successfully complete a program can apply for a diploma from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and designation as DRCPSC. Members will be known nationally, and internationally, as individuals who have sought to advance their knowledge and expertise with additional complementary skills and competency.

Area of Focused Competence in Cytopathology

Based at the University Health Network - Toronto General Site and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, the AFC Cytopathology Diploma Program meets the increasing demand for specialist cytopathology expertise. Trainees will attain the necessary skills to contribute and oversee the operations of a state-of-the-art cytopathology laboratory at a medical, organization and procedural level. They will gain the in-depth knowledge and expertise to become leaders in their field.

AFC Cytopathology Program in the News

The Canadian Area of Focused Competence (AFC) in Cytopathology experience: the first four years. Weir MM, Boerner SL, Auger M.  J Am Soc Cytopathol. 2016 Nov-Dec;5(6): 309-312

Cytopathology fellowsip paving new paths for future learners. The Pathology Report. UHN.


Area of Focused Competence in Transfusion Medicine

The AFC Diploma Program in Transfusion Medicine is based at University of Toronto affliated hospitals as well as Canadian Blood Services.Trainees with a background in Internal Medicine, Hematology, Pediatrics, Hematological Pathology, Anaesthesiology or General Pathology will develop the required skills and competencies  to practice all aspects of Transfusion Medicne, including its foundations in the sciences and research.