U of T Conference Explores Innovation in Fibrosis Research

Monday, December 04, 2017
LMPSU Co-Presidents Negar Khosraviani, Ramana Trivedi
LMPSU Co-Presidents Negar Khosraviani, Ramana Trivedi

Repair and Recovery: Facets of Fibrosis (RRFF) January 13, 2018

A one-day conference providing attendees with a strong foundation of the current state of fibrosis research, while emphasizing new discoveries and the road ahead. Organized and hosted by the Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology Student Union (LMPSU) executive.

Fibrosis plays a pivotal role in human homeostasis, the body and cell’s ability to seek and maintain a condition of equilibrium or stability within its internal environment when dealing with external changes. It can be both reparative and damaging and is implicated in a wide range of diseases. From lungs to kidneys, fibrosis impacts virtually every organ system. These ailments often lack effective cures, marking fibrosis as a crucial area for future discovery. Past research has allowed scientists to develop more effective treatments for diseases like cystic fibrosis. Despite this progress, there is considerable room for growth and the field of fibrosis research represents a key area of discovery for the coming years.

The LMPSU’s co-presidents, Ramana Trivedi and Negar Khosraviani, are excited about RRFF and the potential it has to educate and inspire. “We’re trying something a little different this year that should appeal to both newcomers and those more experienced in the field.  The conference begins with a discussion of the broad pathways involved in fibrosis and then focuses on new advances specific to renal fibrosis and a discussion of the progress still to be made in pulmonary fibrosis.”

Lunch provides pathobiology students the opportunity to participate in a poster session along with networking with attendees and speakers.

View the Full program schedule

Register for the conference here

This is the 6th installment of LMPSU’s  annual conference organized by the LMPSU executive team: Negar Khosraviani, Ramana Trivedi, Ashley Wang, Negin Khosraviani, Michael Xu, Shawn Goyal, Tsz Ying So, Angel Ly, Stephanie Lau, Yao Lu, Matteo Dicips, and Sina Kiani