Latest News at LMP

Prof. Vieira

What role does forensic medicine play in investigating torture and protecting human rights around the world? The second annual Jaffe Lecture, hosted by the Centre for Forensic Science and Medicine (CFSM) and the Department of Laboratory Medicine...

Read More
LMP Professor Donald Low

It is with great sadness that we mourn the passing of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) Professor Donald Low (MD, FRCPC). A legend in Canadian Microbiology practice and a globally recognized researcher and mentor, Prof. Low passed away...

Read More
Sean McCurdy

Congratulations to the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) PhD candidate Sean McCurdy for winning the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship. Valued at $150,000 over three years,...

Read More
Karim Mekhail

Congratulations to the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) Professor Karim Mekhail for receiving the 2013 Maud Menten New Investigator Prize (Biomedical Theme). This prestigious award is presented by the Canadian Institutes...

Read More
Scavenger hunt

On September 9, 2013, The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) welcomed the next leaders in biomedical research to the LMP Graduate Program. It was a fun-filled afternoon including a comprehensive orientation, a meet and greet...

Read More
LMP water balloon toss

"The LMP BBQ was simply fabulous. Perfect weather, a beautiful venue, delicious food, nice company and fun games - a complete package,” said third-year PhD candidate Chan Mi Lee.

Hosted by the graduate student association CLAMPS on Friday...

Read More
Prof. Clinton Robbins

Scientists have long believed that cells called monocytes contribute to the growth of deadly plaque inside the walls of arteries. However, Professor Clinton Robbins (BSc, PhD) from the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP), and...

Read More
Robert Guo and Prof. Alden Chesney.

“The LMP Summer Student Research Program is a fantastic opportunity for undergraduates with little background in research, like me, to gain hands-on experience and learn from the experts,” says third-year undergraduate student Olena Bolonna....

Read More
2013 BioArt Image Competition Winner

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that Postdoctoral Fellow Rosalind Silverman (PhD) and Professor Michelle Bendeck (BSc, PhD) have won the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology’s...

Read More
2013 Postgraduate Research Awards

Congratulations to Transfusion Medicine Resident Asim Alam (BSc, MD, FRCPC) and Hematological Pathology Resident Hubert Tsui (MD, PhD) for winning Postgraduate Research Awards from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Medicine. The purpose of...

Read More
Professor Jason Fish

It takes only 20 seconds for your blood to circulate through approximately 60,000 miles of blood vessels made up of veins and arteries. But how is this complex and intricate system formed? And what defines whether a blood vessel will become a...

Read More
Professors Richard Hegele, Simon Raphael and Shachar Sade.

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Shachar Sade (MD, MSc, FRCPC) as the new Program Director, Anatomical Pathology Residency Program and Director of Postgraduate Education in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and...

Read More
Professor Eleftherios Diamandis

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology 
(LMP) is pleased to announce that Professor Eleftherios Diamandis (MD, PhD, FRCPC, FRSC) has been awarded the 2013 Carl R. Jolliff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Clinical or...

Read More
Professor Jagdish Butany

Congratulations to the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) Professor Jagdish Butany for receiving the 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award from the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology (SCVP).

This award recognizes...

Read More
Professor James Rutka

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that Professor James Rutka (MD, PhD, FRCSC, FACS, FAAP) has been awarded the Dr. Charles B. Wilson Award from the American Association of Neurological Surgeons/...

Read More
Professor Kandel

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) congratulates Professor Rita Kandel (MD, FRCPC) on her appointment as Director of the Graduate Collaborative Program in Musculoskeletal Sciences (CPMS) at the Toronto ...

Read More
Faculty volleyball team

By Mark Wan (MSc)

While LMP’s faculty have always been engaged in student development and research, last Thursday, June 20, the faculty confronted the students with something a little different: a “friendly” volleyball...

Read More
Eric Morgen, LMP PGY 5 Anatomical Pathology Resident

Congratulations to Eric Morgen (HBSc, MD) for winning the Donald W. Penner Prize for best poster presentation at the 64th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association of Pathologists (CAP). This award was established by CAP in 1977 to...

Read More
LMP Annual Banquet 2013

On Thursday, June 6, 2013, the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology’s (LMP) faculty, staff and students gathered to celebrate the past year’s impressive accomplishments. Department members had a chance to mingle and reconnect at the...

Read More
Senior Academic Appointments 2013

Richard G. Hegele, MD, FRCPC, PhD
It is with great pride that we congratulate the nine individuals (four Professors and five Associate Professors) who received approval from the Provost for promotion effective July 1, 2013....

Read More