Latest News at LMP

Stephen Mack proudly displays his Governor General's Gold Medal

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) would like to congratulate alumnus Stephen Mack (PhD) on receiving the Governor General’s Gold Medal. The Gold Medal is presented to three U of T graduate students who achieve the...

Read More
Eleftherios Diamandis

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that Professor Eleftherios Diamandis (MD, PhD, FRCPC, FRSC) is this year’s recipient of the JJ Berry...

Read More
LMP PhD candidate Yiming Wang, Prof. Heyu Ni and MSc candidate Xiaohong (Ruby) Xu

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is proud to announce that MSc candidate Xiaohong (Ruby) Xu and PhD candidate Yiming Wang received first and second prize respectively at the Heart and Stroke / Richard Lewar Centre of...

Read More
Joshua and Marzena Lopes, Nevena Vicic and Stuart Matan-Lithwick

How does electricity work and why is it important in the function of our organs? Graduate students from the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) answered this fascinating question and “electrified” their audience at this year’...

Read More
Postgraduate Research Day 2014

“Our research day is a great opportunity to listen to residents and fellows, to address their needs and answer their questions. It is also very important in building new collaborations between faculty and residents, and it plays a significant...

Read More
Faculty vs. Students Volleyball Game 2014

By Marsel Lino

Competition exists all around us. In a University with a rich history in sports and academics, students compete in many fields. Our Department is known for being diverse in research and that same diversity can be...

Read More
Hubert Tsui

LMP would like to congratulate Hubert Tsui (MD, PhD), Chief Resident, Hematological Pathology for being selected to participate in the 2014 American Society of Hematology (ASH) / European Hematology Association (EHA) course in Translational...

Read More
Fourth-year Pathobiology Specialist Program student Roland Xu

Congratulations to fourth-year Pathobiology Specialist Program student, Roland Xu, for winning a 2014 University of Toronto Alumni Association Scholars Award. Presented by the Division of University Advancement, this award recognizes academic...

Read More
Pawel Buczkowicz, Dr. Cynthia Hawkins and Patricia Rakopoulos

Imagine the anguish of a parent whose child is diagnosed with an incurable form of childhood brain cancer. Surgery is not an option, current chemotherapy is ineffective and focal radiation only provides temporary relief. Remarkably, researchers...

Read More

LMP would like to congratulate recipients of the Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master’s Program (CGS M). This program provides financial support to high caliber MSc or doctoral candidates.

This year, 11 LMP students won awards from this...

Read More
Belinda Lategan, Raheem Peerani, Richard Hegele and David Kolin

By Carlo Hojilla

From March 1 to 7, LMP members travelled to the 2014 United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) Annual Meeting held in sunny San Diego, California USA. The San Diego Convention Center...

Read More
Drs. Victor Tron and Serge Jothy

An announcement from LMP Professor and Chair Richard Hegele:

I would like to welcome Dr. Victor Tron (MD) to Toronto as the new Chief, Department of Laboratory Medicine at St. Michael's Hospital, effective July 1, 2014....

Read More
CaRMS logo

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology (LMP) is delighted to announce the results of this year’s Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS). As a department with exceptional standards, we continue to attract the most remarkable...

Read More
GRC Poster Competition Winners 2014

On Tuesday, March 11, over 200 LMP participants enjoyed the interactive and inspiring 17th Annual LMP Graduate Research Conference (GRC). As one of the major highlights of LMP’s graduate program, the day featured 97 poster...

Read More
a National LEADing Practice Award from Canada Health Infoway and Accreditation Canada.

Congratulations to Professor Frances Jamieson (MD, FRCPC) for winning a National LEADing Practice Award from Canada Health Infoway and Accreditation Canada.

Prof. Jamieson and her team were recognized for their leading edge web-based...

Read More
Ghassan Allo

LMP would like to congratulate Ghassan Allo, PGY 5 Anatomical Pathology Resident, as the winner of the 2014 F. Stephen Vogel Award.

This award recognizes an outstanding paper by a resident or fellow published in Modern Pathology...

Read More
Hubert Tsui, Chief Resident in Hematological Pathology

Congratulations to Hubert Tsui (MD, PhD), Chief Resident in Hematological Pathology, for winning a Young Investigator Award from the Canadian Conference on Lymphoproliferative Disorders (CCOLD). Tsui’s research explains how a lymphoproliferative...

Read More
Winners: DMEM Shots

If you thought that research was competitive, the LMP Lab Games 2014 brought that spirit to an entirely different level. A challenging relay, the focus of the event, featured LMP faculty, staff and students at this intense, inaugural event held...

Read More
Stephen Mack and Prof. Michael Taylor

Receiving a diagnosis of ependymoma, the third most common type of childhood brain cancer, can be devastating. While babies and toddlers are treated with surgery and radiation therapy, current chemotherapy is ineffective and the cancer often...

Read More
Professor Yeni Yucel

Research has shown that diabetes affects multiple organs including the kidneys and eyes, but it is unclear how it affects other organs such as the brain. With a $1 million grant from the Canada Foundation for Innovation, Professor Yeni Yucel (MSc...

Read More